Book-Bound Recollections

Image

This journal was to reflect on my favorite childhood books.  I came up with two series, one under appreciated, the other very appreciated.

My favorite childhood books.  This is rather a difficult subject for me to pick an absolute favorite, mostly because of the fact that as a young child, I read a great deal.  I have many, many books that I hold in very fond memory, and continue to dust off and read periodically.  Perhaps Lord of the Rings, my introduction to that style of fantasy, or maybe The Binding of the Blade one of my personal favorite series.   However, while I was thinking about it long and hard, I decided that I would have to go with the first book series that I ever read, The Chronicles of Narnia.  The only odd thing about this choice is that it has not, in the past, been my most reread series, or even one that I would have said to be my favorite.  But one thing I can say about it is that it has been a very constant influence from about the age of six.  I have kept going back to it, even if that means a dramatized version, or a movie, or simply the original books.  In retrospect, it seems almost as if I have taken the books for granted, due to the fact that I’ve pretty much always known about them.

Aside from this choice, I would have to say that the book series that came to mind as far as childhood reading was that of Redwall by Brian Jacques.  That series was one that I followed well into my teen years, and one that I will definitely give first recommendation when asked by any future children.  The world that it crafted, seemingly right underneath our human eyes in those books, is one unparalleled in my mind, and to me, these books are completely irraplacable.

About jacobctps

Hi, I'm Jacob, and this is my TPS Creative Writing blog. I live in Bedford, VA, and am a senior in highschool this year. My interests include writing, discussing theology, and I have an absolute passion for the piano, and specifically for composing. I intend to pursue degrees in Music and Literature education in college.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment